News and Events

Bacnotan honors outstanding educators

November 11 2014

 The Local Government Unit (LGU) of Bacnotan recognized the winners of the Search for Outstanding  Teachers,  Head Teacher/Principal,  Day  Care Worker,  Barangay  Nutrition Scholar (BNS),  and Barangay Health Care Worker  (BHW) during the awarding ceremony held at  the Bacnotan Town Plaza  on October 10, 2014.

The search was the brain child of Acting Mayor Francisco Angelito Fontanilla to recognize and  honor  teachers/educators  in  their  heroic  role  and  exemplary  efforts  in  strengthening communities  and in  building  the nation.  This initiative was in consonance with the 2014Teachers Month Celebration.  Dr. Rowena C. Banzon, Schools Division Superintendent of DepEd La Union graced the culminating and awarding program as the Guest of Honor and Speaker. Dr. Banzon was impressed with this activity. She stated that the Search for Outstanding Principal, Day Care Worker, BNS, and BHW was first in the province.

After a month long selection process, Bacnotan produced its first batch of outstanding educators  in the  municipal level who were carefully chosen based from the following criteria: personal  qualities  and  character;  instructional/  leadership  competence  and  teaching effectiveness;  professional  and community involvement.  The search was open not only to teachers and principals but also to volunteers and community workers engaged in providing education to the people of Bacnotan.

The awardees were as follows: Outstanding Principal- Dr. Jovita Y. Lopez, Principal IV of Bacnotan National  High  School;  Outstanding  Secondary  Teacher-  Mrs.  Elena P. Licos,  Bitalag  Integrated School;  Outstanding  Elementary  Teacher-  Mr.  Rommel  Berganio,  Bitalag  Integrated  School; Outstanding  Day Care Worker- Mrs. Salvacion Pacetes, Carcarmay Day Care Center; Outstanding BHW-  Mrs.  Juanita  Buccat,  Barangay.  Legleg;  Outstanding  BNS-  Mrs.  Ester De  Francia,  Barangay Nagsarabaoan.

The finalists were:  Teacher Category (Elementary)-Mr.  Lester  Bucasas,  Teacher  III,  Nangalisan Elem. School; Mrs. Evelyn Gamboa, Master Teacher II, Bacnotan Central School;  Mrs.Merlene Gaona,  Master  Teacher  II,  Zaragosa  Elem.  School; Mrs.  Yolanda  Marquez,  Master Teacher 1,  Paratong  Elem.  School  and  Mrs.  Aida  Opinion,  Teacher  II,  Sta.  Cruz  Elementary School. Day Care Worker Category- Mr. Rommel  Montipalco, Zaragosa-Lisqueb Day Care Center.Barangay Nutrition Scholar (BNS) Category- Mrs.Arlene  Pabalan,  Barangay  Nagsimbaanan. Barangay Health Worker (BHW) Category- Mrs. MarilouAlmirol, Barangay Bitalag;  Mrs.  Thelma  Catbagan,  Barangay  Sapilang;Mrs.  Sonia  Lumangcas,Barangay Poblacion and Mrs. Lucila Pangilinan, Barangay Sta. Cruz.

The board of judges and evaluators was chaired by  Hon. Francisco Angelito L. Fontanilla, Acting Municipal  Mayor.  The members  were:  Honorable Virgilio  Antolin,  SBM, Chairman –Committee on Education;  Mr. Rominel Sobremonte, EPS  La Union Division; Mrs. Susana Millares, Retired Public Schools District Supervisor;  Dr. Maria Teresa Bautista, Head Teacher III, BNHS; Dr. Annabelle Pada, Municipal  Health Officer, LGU Bacnotan;  Mrs. Rosemarie Calpito,MSWDO, LGU Bacnotan; Mrs. Roelita Asprin, ECCD Supervisor, Provincial SWDO; Mrs. ZenaidaSellem,  SWO II,  Provincial  SWDO; Miss  Nievelyn Casuga,  District  Nurse Supervisor,  PHO; Mrs.Letecia Palacay, Development Management Officer V, PDOHO; Mr. Nestor Rillorta, President,  Federated PTA President and  Mrs. Divina Fontanilla, NGO. 

The winners received trophies, cash prizes and certificates of recognition.